Namibian Political System

Politics of Namibia takes place in a framework of a presidential representative democratic republic, whereby the President of Namibia is both head of state and head of government, and of a pluriform multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of parliament. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.


Executive branch 

The Namibian Head of State is the President, elected by popular vote every five years. The government is headed by the prime minister, who, together with his cabinet, is appointed by the president. SWAPO, the primary force behind independence is still currently the country's largest party.





Legislative Branch

Bicameral legislature consists of the National Assembly (72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the National Council(26 seats; two members are chosen from each regional council to serve six year terms) . The National Assembly is headed by the Speaker . The National Council is headed by a Chairman.

Judicial branch

Supreme Court judges are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission. The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice.


The Constituent Assembly of Namibia produced a constitution which established a multi-party system and a bill of rights. It also limited the executive president to two 5-year terms and provided for the private ownership of property. The three branches of government are subject to checks and balances, and a provision is made for judicial review. The constitution also states that Namibia should have a mixed economy, and foreign investment should be encouraged.

Read More: The Constitution